I don’t like to cook

Really, I don’t like to cook.  My husband does all the day to day cooking – really dinner each night.  If it was up to me, it would be peanut butter and jelly every night.  So why so many recipes on this blog???  There is just something about this time of year!  And cooking for my children makes all the difference. It is very much about mothering them – feeding them…  Almost an extension of nursing them.  Is that weird?

I do love to bake and most of the cooking posts here will be about baking.  But I do okay with pasta! The fruits of summer and fall do inspire me.  I have a few favorite recipes that I make again and again.

My husband is a great cook!  In high school and summers in college, he worked at a Jewish deli near home or at a cafe on the cape.  He learned a lot and knows what he is doing.  He loves meat so I have never gotten a vegetarian meal, but I am learning to like meat more and more.  But because he is such a good cook, I am terrified to cook for him.  I try to on occasion.  I don’t like to cook meat.  I don’t like to touch raw meat and if I do cook it, I don’t want to eat it afterwards.  I make the chili in the family.  I can plop the ground meat from the styrofoam container into the pan!

Completely unrelated photo

Leave a Reply

