Spring Thanksgiving

Our dear friend Jennifer Myskowski blogged about Spring Thanksgiving a few years ago.  It is one of those things that has stuck with me since.  We are also godless heathens, although we have been having more and more conversations about how we introduce religion and spirituality to our kids.

I love the idea of celebrating the seasons.  Christmas for me is celebrating the festivity of it all.  The winter solstice, the warm yummy goodies – a bright spot at the beginning of a cold dark winter.  And I am a big fan of the magic that is Santa and the Easter Bunny for the kiddos.  I want them to have those magical experiences of finding presents and eggs when they wake up in the morning.

Easter is about celebrating spring, my favorite season.  After a long cold winter, I embrace the warmth and the green grass.  A spring thanksgiving is a time to be thankful for the warmth and color that is about to unfold.  Oh and I am a BIG fan of jelly beans!

Spring Thanksgiving

Spring Thanksgiving

Leave a Reply

