Cake Balls

Recently, we have a new favorite family dessert courtesy of my brother’s girlfriend (future sister-in-law- hint, hint!) It turns out that they should be pretty easy to make and should taste super yummy no mater what.  I am clearly missing something!

Recipe:

1 cake made from a boxed mix
1 can of premade frosting

Bake the cake, let it cool and break it up with a fork.
Smush together 2/3 of the can of frosting with the cake crumbles.  You really need to get in there with your hands.  I tried to do it neatly with a fork and it just wasn’t happening.  It is like making meatballs!

I used pink lemonade cake and frosting from Pillsbury.  I LOVE pink lemonade!  It is pink and lemony!  How could I go wrong?

Pink Lemonade

My brother’s girlfriend usually sticks to chocolate and vanilla and then drizzles them with some pretty melted chocolate.  I chose to top mine with green tinted coconut and some jelly beans for spring thanksgiving.

Cake Balls

Cake Balls

They look okay.  I think maybe they could have benefited from a tad bit of pink food coloring and some additional lemon flavoring.  But they just seemed a little dry and I used more like 3/4 of the can of frosting.

And Kevin’s family insisted on calling them cookies no mater how many times we told them they were cake balls.

2 thoughts on “Cake Balls

Leave a Reply

