Amelia’s Nursery

I had Amelia’s room planned long before I met my husband!

Connor’s room took me/us a really long time.  I had no idea what I wanted and was terrified to even think about it for fear that something would go wrong with our first pregnancy.  We were still living his room when he was born which meant it didn’t even get started until he was a few months old.

With baby #2 I was much more confident and wanted to have everything in place before I gave birth because I knew it would be difficult recovering from a c-section with a toddler to boot.  But of course getting pregnant means a HUGE house renovation – we converted our attic into our master bedroom which was super huge deal and one I couldn’t be much help with because I was pregnant.

But with Amelia’s room, all we really needed to do was paint and add a little trim!  Sort of!

Amelia's room

Amelia’s room

So based on a magazine clipping I had since oh… maybe the last decade, I had it all planned out in my head.  While of course it didn’t come out look exactly like the photo, it was our version.  I had already picked up one can of pink paint long before the ultrasound – but it was on clearance! So I used it as one of the three pink colors on the wall………… yeppers – I said THREE separated by some chair rail.  I followed the natural lines of the room in putting up the chair rail (well, in instructing Kevin to put up the chair rail!).  The off white trim is the same trim color we use in the whole house.  Makes things easier that way!

Amelia's room

Amelia’s room

I hand painted the middle section.  I started trying this newspaper transfer technique on Pinterest.  It only worked if you had enough ink on the back side of the newspaper.  However, covering the other side by rubbing a pencil on its side worked much better.  I printed the flower and words with some clip art and some font I found on my computer, traced them on the wall and then painted in.

Hand painted

Hand painted

Unfortunately,  painting the flowers and the words took me two weekends.  I had to take 6 or 7 trips around the room to trace them out, then to do the different coats of white and accents to the flowers and then to add the words. I was big and fat and pregnant and standing on my feet, usually with my knees locked.  It seemed like it took forever!  I just used acrylic craft paint from Micheal’s.  The silver was very light when I put it on so I mixed a little black in and then added some black highlights to make sure the words really stood out.

Dressing table

Dressing table

When we were done painting.  I stood back and said – holy PINK!  I quickly realized we needed to tone things down a bit.  I tried to add more green and white with the dust ruffle, changing pad, curtains and some baskets. The canopy was something I saved from my single days.

Crib

Crib

I actually ended up making the curtains while I was on maternity leave.  I have no idea how I managed to do it, but I did.  I just hated all the white curtains on the market.  Because it is a tiny room with tiny curtains, I didn’t need much, just one panel per window and I knew I needed some coverage because it is an east facing window.  I basically threw together some beautiful eyelet fabric backed with some very cheap white cotton to help block the light a bit.

Curtains

Curtains

These cute little hooks were a gift and I have picked out some of my favorite newborn dresses to keep on display.  The one on the left is the outfit she wore when she came home from the hospital.

dresses!

dresses!

There is a quilt yet to be hung.  Kevin’s grandmother had told us that she was going to stop making quilts shortly after her 90th birthday and I believed her.  But then she made one for Amelia that I wasn’t expecting (and then another one after that) after I had done all the painting and such.  I haven’t quite figured out where I am going to hang it.

I recently purchased some cute knobs to add to a desk that I started repainted last summer.  I had intended to paint it for Connor’s room, but decided it wouldn’t fit after we moved the train table in there.  So know I need to add some pink to make it Amelia’s.  She desperately needs some sort of table in her room.  There is also a light that was on my grandmother’s bedside table that needs to be rewired and a re-shaded.  Hopefully this summer!

17 thoughts on “Amelia’s Nursery

  1. Super cute! I love seeing nurseries that aren’t just run-of-the-mill rectangular/square rooms. Some us live in houses with slanty ceilings and such and I feel like those kinds of nurseries aren’t represented much on the internet. Thanks for sharing!

  2. What a beautiful room! I love girly rooms for little girls. Pink, white, eyelet…just perfect. I also think that it is wonderful that you’re using Amelia’s great-grandmother’s lamp and a quilt made by her other great-grandmother. These are the things that make the room even more special…a part of her past, the women that built her, going forward into her future. Just beautiful!

    Have a great week!

      • You’re welcome. Two of mine were still living when I was born, but both of them passed away by the time I was 3 years old.

        I hope that you’re recording their stories. I bet they have many that your children would enjoy knowing later on. Grandparents are the best. 🙂

Leave a Reply

