High Five for Friday: Gratitude

Ann’s High Five for Friday: The gratitude edition…

Normally I do a h54f that celebrates the little things in life at the end of the week.  This week I was struggling.  A friend from high school lost her entire house and contents this week in a Colorado fire.  I just can’t stop thinking about what she must be going through.  Fortunately, she and her husband and 3 year old daughter evacuated in time, but they didn’t take much with them.  How do you even begin to put one foot in front of the other after that?  So today I reflect on what I am grateful for in my life.

  1. My home.  It may not have been what I was looking for in the beginning (I believe I said something like, I will live in a house like that over my dead body…) But we have made it our own.
  2. My gardens.  Because we own a home, we own some dirt!  I love that we have surrounded our home with many beautiful plants and trees.  I love that so many people have contributed to our gardens as well.

    My Garden

    My Garden

  3. My career.  I have chosen to work in education and have found my way along a path that suits me.  It isn’t glamorous.  It isn’t easy.  The pay sucks!  But I have found a way to make it my mission to help people access education.
  4. My kids!  I am so grateful each and every day that we are blessed with such smart, beautiful and loving children.  Even at three in the morning…

    Two beautiful children

    Two beautiful children

  5. My husband.  He is truly my rock and saving grace.  My life was never complete until I met him and we built this life together with our children.

    My man!

    My man!

Happy Friday! Be grateful…

I am linked up over at Lauren Elizabeth!

 photo H54Fbutton-1_zpsa7aaa665.png

8 thoughts on “High Five for Friday: Gratitude

  1. Ann – so sorry to read about your friend’s home and belongings. Sending prayers for the rebuilding of their lives as a family. Your children are adorable and I love this high 5 for Friday topic. Thank you for stopping by Stanley & Katrina’s blog. So nice to *meet* you!
    Cool Mom/Christine M.
    Techie for Stanley & Katrina

  2. We all should be a little more grateful for what we have. You have such a beautiful garden!

    Have a great weekend and thanks for linking for Friday Favorites!

  3. I love gardens that contain the contributions of friends. We moved a few years ago to a new place where we had no connections; I dearly miss my gardens (and gardening friends), where every other flower I touched could be traced back to a friendship. This year, I scattered lupine seed that a new friend had gathered from her garden. I hope at least a few of them grow!

    I agree; your kids are beautiful. Thanks for sharing your gratitude. Lynaea @ EveryDayBloom.com

Leave a Reply

