Dinosaur Eggs

The highlight of Connor’s birthday party was digging and excavating dinosaur eggs!  A friend told me about them and they looked just perfect for his age group.  I saw a few blog posts with specific recipes, but my opportunity to make them with Connor involved Amelia taking a nap – so there was no time for measuring.

First I went out to the compost pile and dug up some dirt.  I didn’t have a ton of potting soil left and I didn’t want to use that…  However, I do recommend using some kind of inexpensive cheap bagged dirt….  you know the dirt that comes WITHOUT worms! Then I tossed in some flour and salt and kept mixing it together until it looked nice and floury.

Dirt, flour and salt

Dirt, flour and salt

Then I slowly added water until I got a nice consistency.  You want it to be gooey enough to hold together in a ball, but not so slimy that it can’t hold its shape.

adding water

adding water

The next part comes without photos…. Because it was GROSS!  There was no way I was going to touch my camera with my hands.  Connor and I took a bag of small, cheap plastic dinosaurs and hid them inside the ball of mud/dough, building them up into a nice egg shape, making sure all the plastic was covered. I wasn’t quite sure how much mud I would end up with and it ended up being quite a lot.  That actually worked out really well as there were multiple eggs for each kid to find.

I placed each egg on a cookie sheet covered with aluminum foil and put them in the oven on 150 degrees for the rest of the day.  Probably about four hours or so.  I wanted to give them a head start on the drying process, but didn’t want to melt the plastic dinos inside.

By the way, cooking dirt smells icky!

By the way, cooking dirt smells icky!

For the next couple of days I laid them out in the hot sun and rolled them over occasionally so they would get nice and dry.   The party was three days after we made them and they were perfect.

The day of the party, I hid all the eggs in the sandbox and laid out lots of digging and sifting tools.  I also brought out the train table and covered it with lots of newspapers and set out all of Daddy’s hammers and mallets.

Digging for dinosaur eggs!

Digging for dinosaur eggs!

Again, I was a bad blogger and didn’t get any shots of the kids breaking open the eggs.  Again, trying to keep the camera safe!  All of the kids LOVED it!  the loved finding the eggs and they broke open and away from the toys inside fairly easily.  I can’t wait to do it again!

25 thoughts on “Dinosaur Eggs

  1. Wow I sure wish some of these ideas had been around when mine were little…oh well just have to wait 10 or 15 years for the grandbabies! LOL! Thanks so much for stopping by and linking up with This Momma’s Meandering Mondays! Have an amazing week!

  2. Aww! This sounds like such a great idea! What a great mom you are to think of such a thing for your son and his friends. I hope I can remember this for when my son gets a little older. Thanks for stopping by the Mommy Monday Blog Hop today! I hope you have an extraordinary week! ❤

Leave a Reply

