Summer veggie casserole: Eggplant

When I saw some surplus eggplant at the farm share, I grabbed them, thinking ahead to when I would need soft foods after the wisdom tooth extraction.  This summer veggie casserole was one I had found in a vegetarian cookbook I had in college.  I have never been a big fan of cooking meat, so I ate vegetarian when cooking for myself.

Eggplant

Eggplant

A couple eggplants cubed.   I used two medium Asian eggplants.
Chopped onion
Chopped cilantro
Chopped fresh rosemary
Canned tomatoes (I added a few fresh ones too)
Olive oil
Garlic
Grated cheese

Garlic, tomatoes, cilantro and rosemary

Garlic, tomatoes, onions, cilantro and rosemary

I recall the recipe also called for green peppers and mushrooms, but we didn’t appear to have any green peppers and I don’t do mushrooms.

I sauteed the cubed eggplant in some olive oil with the onions and garlic before adding the herbs and tomatoes.  I opted for whole canned tomatoes, but anything chunky works well.  While canned isn’t my favorite, the extra liquid helps.

Cooking eggplant

Cooking eggplant

I cook it down on medium heat until it is all nice and soft and the eggplant is clear.  I mix in some grated Parmesan, transfer it to a casserole dish and then bake for a bit with shredded cheese on top like cheddar.

Yummy!

Yummy!

10 thoughts on “Summer veggie casserole: Eggplant

  1. Mmmmm love eggplant! Thanks for linking up to the Get Inspired Weekend Blog Hop! This will be pinned to my You’ve Inspired Me! board. Have a great weekend 🙂

Leave a Reply

