My High Five for Friday: The preschool edition

Happy Friday!  This week was the first week back for the students where I work and Connor’s first week at preschool (and our new schedule).

Ann and Connor’s High Five for Friday: The preschool edition!

1.  Our first “First Day of School” picture! He was pretty cooperative about the whole thing, especially since I was tearing up while I was doing it. A special thanks to 3Dinosaurs.com for the cool printables!

Friday

First day of preschool!

2. New food for Connor to try.  My super picky eater does associate time and place with certain foods.  He will say things, like “waffles are for the sitter’s” and won’t eat them at home.  I am hopeful that he will see other kids eating new and different foods and be willing to try them.  They have a GREAT food program and I have already talked to his teacher about not doing any substitutions for him or he will never try anything new.

3.  First art projects came home.  Connor loves “crafts”, but it is harder and harder to do with Amelia being so mobile yet still eating everything she comes in contact with.  She would rather eat a crayon than color with it!  I am very excited for someone to teach him how to use scissors.  My attempts at helping him master this skill have failed miserably!

friday

Art!

4. More outside time for Connor.  At the sitter’s they usually spend the mornings inside doing breakfast/snack/lunch and then naps before they head outside.  Because his day care has so much more staff, they can send the kids outside in the morning and between meals.

5. Finally, I am super excited to have my child enrolled in a program that I have been a part of long before I got pregnant!  When we moved to town, I was already familiar with the program, but disappointed to discover that they didn’t have infant care because of the limitations of the building.  I joined the board of directors to help the organization grow and fill that need in the community.  I have been fortunate to be able to contribute to the organization, help them to build a new building and add two new programs – infant care and second shift care.  Ironically, both of my kids have aged out of infant care!  It is a great next step for Connor!

Friday

So proud!

I hope you have a happy Friday!

As always, linked up with Lauren Elizabeth!

 photo H54Fbutton-1_zpsa7aaa665.png

//
http://pagead2.googlesyndication.com/pagead/show_ads.js

12 thoughts on “My High Five for Friday: The preschool edition

  1. We were finally back to school this past week too. Kids grow so fast don’t they…so do the number of art projects coming home. Next on the to do list–figure out what to do with the art explosion! Thanks for linking up at the MTMmixer this week! Happy to have you.

  2. What a special time in life for you both. I just went to my grand daughter’s preschool with her. It was so special 🙂 Thanks for joining us at the Let’s Get Social Sunday party. Have a wonderful week.

  3. That was smart to tell the teacher no substitutions. Not sure I”d have thought to do it, but it’s a good one.

    My children were picky until they were MUCH older. I still have one little one left and he can be pretty picky. He also associated food and place sometimes, like you noted your son to do.

    Thank you for linking to Super Sunday Sync!

  4. I love seeing other family’s first day of school pics 🙂 we just sent our oldest to preschool so now we get to join in the fun, it is nice when they are still at an age to indulge us for pictures! Hope you have a good school year 🙂

    (Stopping by from Bloggy Moms 🙂

  5. Looks like he is going to have a great time at preschool! I wish our daycare provided food for the kids! That would be so awesome! Thanks for linking up with The mommy Mondays Hop!

    • They have a great food program! Our regular sitter provides food too, but mostly carbs and all things white, so I send extra fruit and dairy stuff too. We will see how the public school does. All indications show I will be making lunches for a long, long time

Leave a Reply

