Days 12 and 13 of 31 Days: Making apple crisp

Stop, Drop and Parent: Days 12 and 13 of the 31 Days Challenge at the Nester

Making apple crisp

One of the ways that we have tried to get Connor, my picky eater, to try new foods or eat healthier, is cook with him.  He loves to help, but it is kind of hit or miss as to whether he will eat whatever we make.  My desire to bake kicks up in the fall so when we had a surprise day off this week and a big bag of apples, we decided to make apple crisp! When I was on maternity leave, Connor and I would try and squeeze in different projects when Amelia would nap.  Now that she sometimes will nap for an hour or more, it is great time for Connor and I to do things like this.

31 days

This is my grandmother’s apple crisp recipe. For me, all other variations are not quite right.  Some foods I am happy to try different versions.  Not apple crisp! apple crisp My grandmother’s recipe card makes one square (is it 8 by 8) baking dish.  I never make a single batch so I decided to just double the recipe when I posted it – to save you the math!

Topping:

6 tablespoons of sugar 1 and 1/3 cup powered milk 2/3 cup of flour 1/2 teaspoon nutmeg 1/2 teaspoon salt 2 teaspoons cinnamon 1/2 cup (1 stick) butter – or olio as my grandmother writes!

Filling:

8 cups peeled and and cut apples (My grandmother writes tart – I say any kind goes) 1 teaspoon cinnamon 1 cup sugar Put the apple mixture into a greased baking dish – I use the big Pyrex lasagna dish. Spoon the topping on spreading evenly.  Bake at 325 degrees until the apples are soft and the topping is golden brown.

apple crisp

My mom told me that this was the only dessert that my grandmother let them eat for breakfast, so she let us eat it too!  Guess what my kids had for breakfast this morning!

31Days StopDropParent

//pagead2.googlesyndication.com/pagead/js/adsbygoogle.js // <![CDATA[
(adsbygoogle = window.adsbygoogle || []).push({});

// ]]>

9 thoughts on “Days 12 and 13 of 31 Days: Making apple crisp

Leave a Reply

