Day 16 of 31 Days: A morning meltdown

Stop, Drop and Parent:
Day 16 of the 31 Days Challenge at the Nester

A morning meltdown

This morning was rough, really rough.  It could have been worse… I didn’t need to do an emergency load of laundry or clean any floors.  But the first morning back in the routine after 5 days off was a bit traumatic. Dad goes to work long before anybody gets up so it has always been just me in the morning, which is fine.  I appreciate those rare mornings when I do get some help, but for the most part we have a routine, that usually involves a lot of bribes, yelling and running around.  This morning, both kids slept well after they normally do and needed to be woken up.  Connor was just a mess.  He didn’t want to get out of bed, he didn’t want to pick out his clothes or get dressed.  He didn’t want to eat breakfast.  He didn’t want to brush his teeth or wash his face.  He was just a mess.  I ended up having to dress him myself, which I assure you is no easy feat with a cooperative 4 year old, never mind one that was trying to run away from me.  In the end, he was just sobbing.

31 days

Thank goodness he is so damn cute!

It is in those moments, when I have to just stop.  Schedules, routines and being to work on time just get thrown out the window.  I have to stop for me and I have to stop for him.  I scooped him up, carried him to a rocking chair in the living room and just held him. I held him and rocked him until he calmed down enough to talk to him.  He finally agreed to finish getting ready, eat some cereal in the car and go to school. It sucks, those moments, and then to have to go to work and leave my child after a morning like that. I wish I knew a better way.  I stick to a pretty simple routine.  I try and switch it up when it isn’t working.  Right now, it isn’t working and I have no idea how to make it better.

31Days StopDropParent

//
//pagead2.googlesyndication.com/pagead/show_ads.js

6 thoughts on “Day 16 of 31 Days: A morning meltdown

  1. We’ve been there on many mornings…and afternoons, and evenings, and even the middle of the night for that matter! 😉 Great insight to take the time to sit down with your little guy and help him get settled before pushing through the rest of the morning.

  2. I hate saying this because it annoys me when people say it to me but it might just be a phase for him. Four can be an awesome age but I have found with my daughter it’s also a transition. Not a baby but not a big kid either. I’ve done exactly as you and just cuddled it out before. I’m not sure there is any more to do. It stinks but I think it just figures itself out. Hang in there. You are going a great job!

    • I think mornings have always been hard for us. Some days are better than others, but off and on we have always had morning challenges. I can only imagine what he is going to be like as a teenager!

Leave a Reply

