Baking soda ornaments

This year I made baking soda ornaments with the kiddos!  Last year I tried to make some hand prints with salt dough and I ended up tossing them because they were just too heavy and ended up cracked. I had pinned these sweet ornaments a few weeks ago www.mariegracedesigns.com and thought that they might be a nice alternative.

Recipe:
2 cups baking soda
1 cup corn starch
1 and 1/4 water

Cook on the stove top until nice and thick, the post I pinned referred to the consistency of mashed potatoes. Do NOT STOP stirring, even just for a minute to untangle your son’s slinky!  I then dumped the whole pot on a silicone baking sheet to cool and stuck the pot in the sink to soak.  Cover with a dishcloth as it does quickly dry out.

This was a great chance to talk about measuring and cooking.  Amelia had great fun playing in the spilled baking soda and Connor and I talked about how the consistency of the dough changed as it cooked.

baking soda ornaments

All grown up and sitting on a big stool!

I took out just what I needed to make each hand print ornament (with a chunk for each kiddo to play with) and stored the rest in a bowl and covered with a wet paper towel.  This stuff dries and becomes crumbly really quickly so I need to work fast.

baking soda ornament

Dough in a bowl with a wet paper towel

By the second hand print I already needed to add a little water to get the dough to roll out smoothly.  I used bowls to trace around each print and pressed in their first initial and the year with some rubber stamps.

baking soda ornaments

Connor 2013

We didn’t end up making any more ornaments with this batch.  While both kids loved playing with the dough, experimenting with the rubber stamps and fighting over the rolling pin, they were none too interested in making any kind of “final product”. I have stored the dough in a ziploc bag with some damp paper towel and I might try again when we pull out the cookie cutters.  I love the simple white stars that Maria and her family did.

Don’t forget to check out the Learning through Play Hop!

 

 

//pagead2.googlesyndication.com/pagead/js/adsbygoogle.js //

29 thoughts on “Baking soda ornaments

    • I love how hard they have become – and so nice and white. I hope the dough holds up in the plastic bag and we can make more!

  1. Hey Ann! It’s Deonna from the Child at Heart blog! Thank you so much for linking up at the Merriest Blog Hop! I can’t wait to see all of your holiday ideas this month! I have never heard of these until this week and can’t wait to try them out!

  2. Found you on the Time for Mom hop. Did these crumble when they dried? We did salt dough ornaments last year and they crumbled so easily. I also used the white Crayola air-dry clay, but didn’t get the results from it I wanted either. I’m going to have to try this out!

    • I did bake them for a few minutes at 250, just to speed up the process. The bottom that was touching the silicon baking mat was a bit tan while the rest is still bright white, but I think I probably just left them in too long.

  3. sometimes just letting them experiment through play without requiring a final product is the best! Glad you got a cute handprint out of it! Thank you for co-hosting the Learn Through Play hop!

Leave a Reply

