Valentine’s Day Crafts for Kids

After being stuck inside more than we would like, I try to ramp up the crafting for Connor.  Amelia is starting to be able to handle a few crafty things if Connor can work more independently and I can help her. This is the perfect time of year for some Valentine’s Day crafts for my kids!

Love bugs

First up, we created these adorable ladybugs inspired from Spoonful.Com, a Disney site. It is all out of construction paper.  Just a large red heart for the body and lots of black hearts and circles for the other parts and spots.  Super simple!

Valetine's Day Crafts for KidsI love to see the differences with how each kid puts the different parts together.  Amelia, at 20 months put it all together.  I just did the glue application, but she pointed to where I should put it.  She was ALL about the heart spots!

Window Heart

I have seen a bazillion versions of this, but the one that had inspired me was over at Craftulate. Connor has named it, The Window Heart!  This is made from layering tissue paper between two sheets of clear contact paper. I just grabbed what I thought was clear contact paper, but it is a bit cloudier than I expected.  Is there something different out there?

Valentine's Day Crafts for KidsThe hardest part was keeping the kids distracted so I could cut out the tissue paper into hearts! I encouraged them to just fill it up and then I went in and tried to fill in some empty parts.  Then Dad and I took a second sheet of contact paper and laid it over the top.  This was a bit tricky and I probably should have started with smaller sizes!  Finally I trimmed the whole sheet into one large heart and attached it to the large picture window in the living room.

056

I am definitely thinking spring ideas already!  The suns shines throw so nicely. I think flowers and bright colored eggs would be adorable!

Another snow day is upon us today.  Someone send more glue sticks!

Valentine's Day Crafts for Kids

 

 

//pagead2.googlesyndication.com/pagead/js/adsbygoogle.js //

16 thoughts on “Valentine’s Day Crafts for Kids

  1. I love this! You all did such a wonderful job. I would love to do something like this with the kiddos 🙂 Thanks for sharing with us at Countdown in Style! Don’t forget to stop by Friday to see if you are featured xo

Leave a Reply

