Watermelon Cookies: Cookies from a Cake Mix

Last weekend, I was feeling itchy to bake something and both kiddos love to help in the kitchen these days.  So while I was out shopping for a visit from the bunny guy, I took a peak around the baking section at Target.  I love the cool new cake flavors that they have been putting out the last year or so.  I have used the pink lemonade, key lime and orange creamsicle for different birthday or holiday treats.  The one I picked up this time was Betty Crocker’s Watermelon Cake Mix and Frosting. I had seen any number of posts and pins about baking cookies from a cake mix and this looked like the perfect flavor to try!

Watermelon Cookies: Cookies from a Cake Mix

Just to clarify – this particular brand and flavor is a limited edition, only sold at Target variety.  And I am not paid, encouraged or otherwise coerced into writing this post – the were just super easy and super yummy- and well – gosh darn cute!

Our recipe:

  • One box of cake mix
  • 2 eggs
  • 1/3 cup of vegetable oil

I mixed it all together, rolled into 2 inch balls and baked on a greased cookie sheet for 10 minutes at 350 degrees.

This recipe to make cookies from a box cake mix seems to be pretty consistent throughout the internet. I have seen a few variations with either a 1/2 cup of oil or butter.

cookies from a cake mix

I also used topped with the watermelon frosting, but have stored the cookies separately and we just add a little frosting to top off the cookie when we are having a treat after dinner.  I love the color – it is bright and I am sure has way to many chemicals in it but it looks like the perfect Ninja Turtle Green for a certain someone’s party this summer!

cookies from a cake mixAmelia was a big fan too!

Amelia

//pagead2.googlesyndication.com/pagead/js/adsbygoogle.js //

16 thoughts on “Watermelon Cookies: Cookies from a Cake Mix

  1. Wow these look like little watermelons! I could tell by the cute face that they were probably amazing! Thanks so much for sharing this with us at Countdown in Style!

  2. I had no idea these flavors existed. Such a fun concept. LOL at the frosting on the nose. My girls would love these. Thanks for sharing with the Mixer. Hope to see you again this week.

Leave a Reply

