Spring Caterpillars

Spring continues to be rather cool and rainy in New England.  We try and go out as much as we can, but some days are just too cold and wet!  I have been tucking away potential craft projects and this weekend we pulled out a few ideas.  We turned a egg carton into caterpillars!  I am sure I have seen this idea a thousand times in all sorts of places so  I can’t  take credit for the idea – I also can’t really really attribute to anyone else!

Spring Caterpillars from Suchamama.com

Amelia has been painting more and more in her class at day care so I figured she might be ready to try some painting at home side by side with her big brother.  The plastic top of an old coffee can worked great for holding a variety of paint globs between the two kids.

caterpillar

After they dried, we added some pipe cleaner antennae, googly eyes and drew on some smiles with a marker.

caterpillars

While they were painting I read a classic picture book that was great for Amelia and an early reader that was more factual and great for Connor.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Amelia was a big fan and was so cute to watch her play with the finished product.  Apparently she can make “bug noises” that sounds a lot like munching leaves!

Come check out more posts like this at the Learn Through Play Hop!

//pagead2.googlesyndication.com/pagead/js/adsbygoogle.js //

24 thoughts on “Spring Caterpillars

    • I have got to remember to start saving more egg crates. Although I do quite the stock pile of toilet paper rolls!

    • Thanks! My almost two year old has already ripped off all the googly eyes so you might want to draw those on!

  1. Love this! I could use all the ideas I could get to play with my son and teach him about everything. Thanks so much for sharing this with us at Countdown in Style!

  2. How cute is that. I remember when my kids were little like that…they loved painting and making things on their own. Thanks for sharing on Merry Monday.

  3. These are so cute and would be a great idea for Grandkids Day in our club. Thanks for linking up to the Bloggers Brags Pinterest Party. I’ve pinned your post to the Bloggers Brags Pinterest Board

  4. Now that Bee is getting better at following directions, we are starting to get more into crafts. This is a perfect simple craft! Thanks for sharing with Countdown in Style.

Leave a Reply

