Teacher Appreciation Week: Saltine Toffee

We are celebrating Teacher Appreciation Week at the daycare center where both Connor and Amelia attend.  As both a member of the board of directors and a parent of children in two different classrooms, we made a big batch of our favorite treats.  I have seen it called Saltine Toffee Crackers, Cookies or even Christmas Crack. There is a bazillion recipes online and my husband did remind me that I had blogged about it before, but this is my latest version with the actual recipe!

Saltine Toffee

I used a little bit of a different recipe than i have in the past:

Saltine Toffee

1 and 1/2 sleeves of saltines
2 sticks of butter
1 cup brown sugar
3/4 bag of chocolate chips
3/4 bag peanut butter chips
toppings: peppermint chips and toffee chips

Pre-heat the oven to 400 degrees.
The kids and I laid out the saltines on a cookie sheet with a nice tall edge.  I have learned that a quick coat of baking spray first  makes it so much easier to pop it out of the pan later.  I also learned that it is okay to not fill the pan edge to edge.  A little wiggle room lets the butter/sugar mixture really ooze in and get soaked up by the crackers.

Saltine Toffee

Bring the butter and brown sugar to a boil for a few minutes.  Be careful not to burn.  I use a small pan and a mini whisk to make sugar that I am stirring it all through constantly. You want it to be well mixed and nice and thick.

Saltine Toffee

Pour the mixture over the entire sheet of crackers.  Make sure that all crackers are covered.  If they aren’t they burn quickly.  I take my time and make sure the crackers are well covered and the crackers have a minute or so to soak.  Then the whole pan goes into the over for about 5 minutes.  It should be golden brown and bubbly – and not burnt!

Saltine Toffee

Then I sprinkle a hefty amount of chocolate chips on top. Usually I use one bag of chips for on cookie sheet.  This time I used about 3/4 a bag of chocolate chips and 3/4 peanut butter chips. I put the pan back in the oven for about 2 minutes to melt the chips.

058

After I take it out I use a silicon spatula to spread the chips out , again covering every cracker.  Because I used two different chips, I used two different spatulas and that kept them from combing too much.  Then I sprinkled a bit of peppermint chips on one corner of the chocolate section and some of the toffee on the peanut butter.

059 060

In the winter, I can leave the whole tray out on the porch and it gets nice and cold and I can break it up quickly.  Ideally it would go in the fridge to cool, but I don’t have that much room!

The teachers at the school gobble this stuff up quickly and it is a simple way to show them all how we appreciate them!

Saltine Toffee

 


 

 

//pagead2.googlesyndication.com/pagead/js/adsbygoogle.js //

 

14 thoughts on “Teacher Appreciation Week: Saltine Toffee

  1. I’ve heard of this but never tired it. Salty and sweet, sounds perfect! Pinned it and putting it on my list. Thanks for being so loyal to the Mommy Mixer. Hope to see you again on Friday.

Leave a Reply

