Banana Bread Cupcakes

I decided to make some banana bread cupcakes for a family brunch to celebrate my sister’s birthday and Mother’s Day.  We don’t usually do cakes at our family birthday brunches, something that distresses Connor to no end.  I thought that making some muffins topped with frosting might be nice addition.  Connor has also been asking for banana bread lately and our collection of ripe bananas was growing.  Thus… banana bread cupcakes!

Banana Bread Cupcakes

Inspired by this recipe at Savory Simple. I came up with this version to make 18 cupcakes.

Banana Bread Cupcakes

3 cups all purpose flour
1/2 cup of wheat germ
1/2 cup of oatmeal
2 cups chopped walnuts
1 cup sugar
1 heaping teaspoon baking soda
½ teaspoon salt
4 ripe bananas, mashed
1 single serving container plain Greek yogurt
3 eggs
1 stick melted butter
1 teaspoon vanilla extract

As per my usual methodology, I throw all the ingredients in one bowl and mix together.  I poured into muffin tins lined with baking wrappers and baked for 30 minutes at 350 degrees.

Tip:  I keep our ripe bananas in the freezer and when I need them for baking I thaw in hot water (or the microwave) chop off the top and squeeze them into a bowl.  Looks less than appetizing, but works like a charm!

For the frosting I used the following:

1 container cream cheese
1 stick butter
1 teaspoon vanilla extract
Confectioners sugar

I softened the cream cheese and butter in the microwave before blending with the vanilla with a mixer.  I slowly added the confectioner sugar until I felt it has enough body to hold it’s shape when I piped it on. Some time in the fridge could help firm it up too, but we were running out of time!

Banana Bread CupcakesThe banana bread cupcakes seemed to be a big hit with everyone.  Connor and Amelia particularly enjoyed the frosting! I made extra hoping to entice them at breakfast.


//pagead2.googlesyndication.com/pagead/js/adsbygoogle.js //

17 thoughts on “Banana Bread Cupcakes

  1. I love banana bread but have never thought of making it into cupcakes. Love the idea. Putting this in on must make list.
    Hope you are having a great weekend,
    Bev

  2. Hi! Visiting as the cohost of Merry Mondays. I love your blog. It is very cute. Reading some of the articles I feel you have found your niche. You sure made me want to open this post and read it through! Hope to see you next week on Merry Mondays!

  3. This looks incredible! Pinned. Thanks for being a part of our party. We really appreciate you stopping by and sharing. I hope to see you on Monday at 7 pm. Happy Saturday! Lou Lou Girls

Leave a Reply

