Blogland Tour

I was invited to participate in the Blogland Tour by Stephanie of Sandpaper and Glue. It is an opportunity to answer questions about how and why we blog to learn a little bit more about other bloggers! There are all kinds of bloggers participating, but the questions are a little bit slanted to DIYers.

Sandpaper & Glue
Stephanie is a self taught DIYer and first time home owner, working her way through each room of her house.  Do check Stephanie’s House and Project Tour page for a quick guide to all of her creative house projects!

What are you working on right now?

Right now, we are squeezing as much fun out of the end of summer that we can. Next week, Connor starts KINDERGARTEN assessment and “camp” days and then the following week he is in school full time! Amelia will be full time in day care on her own for the whole day too.

blogland tour

As the summer winds down, we will need to start cleaning up the yard, clearing out flower beds, and trying to get the last outside projects done. However, we also need to tackle our kitchen.  We had lots of good intentions and demolished the whole gosh darn thing except the sink and all of the appliances are in place.  But otherwise it is raw plywood and sheet rock and is HORRIBLE!

How does my work differ from others?

It is uniquely me!  I don’t seem to fit into any particular blogging category.  It is definitely a little bit of many things.  I blog about our family adventures, our activities and an occasional recipe, home decorating idea or product review.  Lately, it is become much more focused on specific play and learning activities that we do and I am trying and be a little more intentional in the direction that I go.

blogland tour

Why do I write/create what I do?

For me, this is question that I ask myself every day!  Why do I blog? 
I started blogging after reading a wide variety of other mommy blogs and hearing my own voice and experiences resonate in their posts.  I love the technology I am learning from customizing my own site, to adding ads and a bit of photo editing.

Most importantly, I needed a place to share my experience of being a mom!  Overtime, it became less of a collection long rambling unrelated posts and has become more focused.  Although I still hold onto some rather disconnected types of post – like Wordless Wednesdays that don’t seem to really fit in with the rest of what I blog about.  But it is fun!

How does your writing/creative process work?

Great question!  I started blogging because these stories were filling up in my head.  Stories about our family outings or parenting challenges and I didn’t always have an outlet to share them.  Often times, the post is bubbling and brewing and once I figure out how it is all going to gel together I try and get to a computer and spill it all out!  As a busy working mama, there isn’t a lot of time for editing and rewriting so I love that a blog post can just be short and sweet. Often times, I just have a few minutes between dinner time and bedtime to upload photos and write so that post has to be fully formed in my head before I can get fingers to keyboard.

Check out the next stop on the Blogland Tour!

Mosswood Connections

MosswoodConnections Logo PostcardFree Activities, Lessons and Resources for Child Development! The contributors of Mosswood Connections are parents and therapists specializing in autism services. They believe in maximizing a child’s potential through positive reinforcement,  play based interventions and skill building activities. Their website offers some of the ways that we connect with children and their communities. How we can collaborate together to motivate and learn from each other to create the magic of growth and learning. The activities they have on their website are some of the games and projects that they have designed or improved to build skills and enhance the lives of all children.

7 thoughts on “Blogland Tour

  1. What a wonderful idea (Blogland Tour!). I love your pictures, especially that beautiful purple flour. And you’re so right… my flower beds really need my attention before all my leaves fall on them! Thanks for sharing on the Merry Monday linky party. Pinned! ~Stacy

Leave a Reply

