Apple Crisp

Making apple crisp

My desire to bake kicks up in the fall  and my favorite fall recipe is apple crisp!

Apple Crisp

This is my grandmother’s apple crisp recipe. For me, all other variations are not quite right.  Some foods I am happy to try different versions.  Not apple crisp! My grandmother’s recipe card makes one square (is it 8 by 8) baking dish.  I never make a single batch so I decided to just double the recipe when I posted it – to save you the math!

apple crisp

Apple Crisp Topping:

  • 6 tablespoons of sugar
  • 1 and 1/3 cup powered milk
  • 2/3 cup of flour
  • 1/2 teaspoon nutmeg
  • 1/2 teaspoon salt
  • 2 teaspoons cinnamon
  • 1/2 cup (1 stick) butter – or olio as my grandmother writes!

Apple Crisp Filling:

  • 8 cups peeled and and cut apples (My grandmother writes tart – I say any kind goes)
  • 1 teaspoon cinnamon
  • 1 cup sugar

apple crisp

Put the apple mixture into a greased baking dish – I use the big Pyrex lasagna dish. Spoon the topping on spreading evenly.  Bake at 325 degrees for 45 minutes and the apples are soft and the topping is golden brown.

My mom told me that this was the only dessert that my grandmother let them eat for breakfast, so she let us eat it too!  Guess what my kids will have for breakfast this weekend!

This post originally posed as part of a Stop, Drop and Parent 31 Days Challenge!


 

//pagead2.googlesyndication.com/pagead/js/adsbygoogle.js //

9 thoughts on “Apple Crisp

  1. Ooh, this sounds great! I love apple crisp!
    Thank you for stopping by the Thoughtful Spot Weekly Blog Hop this week. We hope to see you drop by our neck of the woods next week!

Leave a Reply

