Curried Butternut Squash Soup

This is one of my favorite fall soup recipes.  We have started to see some squash in our farm share and I am hoping we to see butternut soon!

Butternut Squash

Curried Butternut Squash Soup Ingredients

2 tsp olive oil
1 small onion
2 or 3 stalks celery
An apple or 2 depending on sweetness
1 inch  or more fresh ginger (grated)
2 tsp curry powder (or more to taste)
1 tsp salt
1/4 tsp pepper
1 butternut squash
1/2 cup apple cider
1 and 1/2 cups water
1 can broth (chicken or veggie)
1/2 to 1 cup heavy whipping cream (depending on taste)

squash

Curried Butternut Squash Soup Directions

I roasted the squash instead of just boiling it.  It was definitely more work and a bit messy, but I love that flavor that you get.  Plus it makes the house smelled yummy!  The best tool my husband brought home was a pumpkin scraper!  It made short work of the squash goop and seeds.

Cook the onion, apple, celery and ginger in the olive oil until golden brown. I use a ginger grater for fresh ginger.  Generally the are small ceramic dishes with a very sharp spiked surface that allows you to rub the ginger and get out the good stuff, living the stringy bits behind.  I use a little liquid from whatever I am cooking to rinse of the grater into the pot so every little bit gets in there.

Add the salt, pepper and curry. Sometimes I throw in a little cinnamon!

Add cider, broth, water and squash. Cook until everything is nice and mushy.  This would take a while if you didn’t roast the squash first. I try to add more cider or broth instead of water if I need to add more liquid.

Through the whole mess into a food processor or blender until a preferred consistency.  I like to get it nice and creamy.

Put it back in the pot, add the cream, bring to a boil and then simmer for 10 minutes.

Sometimes I throw a little garnish on top, like coconut for fun!

butternut squash


 

//pagead2.googlesyndication.com/pagead/js/adsbygoogle.js //

7 thoughts on “Curried Butternut Squash Soup

Leave a Reply

