Pumpkin Chocolate Chip Cookies

Pumpkin Chocolate Chip Cookies

Cooking is a great way to spend time with my children.  October is a perfect time for pumpkin chocolate chip cookies.  I had blogged about making these a few years ago, but to my dismay, the link back to the recipe I used was entirely different!  Booo!  But it gave me a chance to come up with my own.

Connor and I first roasted a few sugar pumpkins.

pumpkinsA good strong knife and a pumpkin scooper with a handy serrated edge are very helpful!  After cleaning them out, I placed them open side down on an aluminum foil baking sheet and let them bake until soft when poked with a fork (maybe 45 minutes to an hour).  Any flesh that was exposed I coated with vegetable oil so it wouldn’t dry out.

I scraped the flesh out after the pumpkins had cooled and mashed with a potato masher and stored in the fridge to use for baking.  We made the cookies the same day, but I have more in the fridge to add to soup or to make pie.  I find that roasting your own pumpkin, while super yummy is really tricky when baking because the water is so inconsistent.  Good for most baking, but tricky with pie, especially when serving it to guests!

I also roasted the seeds from these sugar pumpkins along with the seeds from the other seeds from the other Kakai pumpkins we had.  The color difference is amazing and so was the taste.  Both were yummy!

pumpkin seeds

While we were munching on the pumpkin seeds, Connor, Amelia and I came up with this recipe for pumpkin chocolate cookies!

pumpkin chocolate chip cookiesPumpkin Chocolate Chip Cookies

  • 2 cups of mashed pumpkin
  • 3 cups of flour (give or take, depending on the consistency of your pumpkin)
  • 1/2 cup of sugar
  • 1 egg
  • 1 teaspoon baking powder (maybe could have used more – or maybe some baking soda too)
  • 1 stick of butter, melted
  • 1 bag of semi sweet chocolate chips (minus a few for each kiddo)
  • 1 teaspoon cinnamon
  • 1 and 1/2 teaspoons vanilla
  • A sprinkle of ginger and nutmeg

A spooned them on to a cookie sheet and baked at 350 for 20 minutes or so, depending on the size.  I tend to make bigger cookies and they take longer!

Connor loves them!  Unlike the last batch that I couldn’t get him to eat more than one.  Shhhh……… don’t tell him that pumpkin is a vegetable!

31 days 2014


//pagead2.googlesyndication.com/pagead/js/adsbygoogle.js //

 

4 thoughts on “Pumpkin Chocolate Chip Cookies

Leave a Reply

